St. Pauls Gallery Payments

+44 (0)121 236 5800

World Wide Shipping

Shopping Basket

No of items: 0

Your basket is empty


Clockwork Orange Signed Prints


Clockwork Orange Hand Signed Memorabilia Print by Philip Castle

Hand Signed by Malcome McDowell, Mike Kaplan and Philip Castle
Clockwork Orange Hand Signed Memorabilia Print by Philip Castle

Date: Published in 2009

Signed By: Philip Castle, Malcolm McDowell and Mike Kaplan

Edition: 195 Prints Available World Wide

Dimensions: Image Size 19 x 19 Paper Size 26 x 27 Inches

Atelier: Dekkel Fine Art

Condition: New Mint Condition

Medium: Silkscreen

British Pounds£595
US Dollars$791
Japanese Yen¥102132

Make an Enquiry
Clockwork Orange Signed Prints

A Clockwork Orange (1962) is a dystopian novel by Anthony Burgess
but more widely knowninfilm format, produced by Stanley Kubrick.
The film artwork was created by legendary airbrush artist Philip
Castle, who has signed the limited edition album cover print
available here.

The title is taken from an old Cockney expression, "as queer as a
clockwork orange", and alludes to the prevention of the main
character's exercise of his free will through the use of a
classical conditioning technique. With this technique, the
subjects emotional responses to violence are systematically
paired with a negative stimulation in the form of nausea caused
by an emetic medicine administered just before the presentation
of films depicting "ultra-violent" situations. Written from the
perspective of a seemingly biased and unapologetic protagonist,
the novel also contains an experiment in language: Burgess
creates a new speech that is the teenage slang of the not-too-
distant future.

Burgess' novel has been adapted for cinema by Stanley Kubrick,
and also by Andy Warhol; adaptations have also been made for
television, radio, and the stage. As well as inspiring a concept
album, the novel and films are referred to in and have inspired a
number of songs. The novel was chosen by Time Magazine as one of
the 100 best English-language novels from 1923 to 2005